The two-year Kress Foundation History of Art Institutional Fellowship program provides young art historians, conservators, and curators with crucial training and resources for studying the history of European art at six renowned research centers. Applicants must be nominated by their department and apply by Nov. 30, 2019.

By Kaitlyn Ugoretz, Funding Peer
Monday, September 9th, 2019 - 9:20am



The Samuel H. Kress Foundation will award six pre-doctoral Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art this year. The program provides the next generation of art historians, art conservators, and art museum professionals with direct exposure to European art pieces, prolonged access to key information resources such as libraries and photographic archives, the development of professional relationships with colleagues abroad, and sustained immersion in European cultures. Each fellowship provides for a two-year research appointment hosted by one of the following European art history research centers:

Florence: Kunsthistorisches Institut / Institute for Art History

Leiden: Leiden University Centre for the Arts in Society (LUCAS)

London: Courtauld Institute of Art & Warburg Institute of Art (jointly administered)

Munich: Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte / Central Institute for Art History

Paris: Institut national d'histoire de l'art (INHA) / National Institute for the History of Art

Rome: Bibliotheca Hertziana

Restricted to pre-doctoral candidates in the history of art and related disciplines (such as archaeology, architecture, or classics). Nominees must be U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university. Dissertation research must focus on European art from antiquity to the early 19th century. Candidates must be nominated by their academic department.

Please note: Each university is limited to two (2) nominees per academic department. The nominees must be applying for different research centers.

$30,000 per year for two years.

November 30, 2019.